Awards, Honors, and Commissions


2016 Three Luminaries: Emma Amos, Faith Ringold, Lorraine O’Grady; Studio Museum in Harlem Spring Gala
Larry D. and Brenda A. Thompson Award from the Georgia Museum of Art
2013 Civitella Ranieri Foundation, Fellowship Residency in Civitella, Italy – by invitation
Luminary Honoree, Women’s Caucus for Art, CAA, New York, February.
2010 Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant based on Achievement. New York, NY.
2009 Yaddo Artist Residency, by invitation, Corporation of Yaddo, Saratoga Springs, NY. (October).
2004 Lifetime Achievement Award, Women’s Caucus For Art, College Art Association, Seattle, WA.
2003 Purchase Award, American Academy of Arts and Letters, Ceremonial & Exhibition, New York City.
2002 The James Van Der Zee Award, Brandywine Workshop, Philadelphis, PA. (Past honorees include Romare Bearden, Benny Andrews, Elizabeth Catlett, Howardena Pindell, Betye Saar, and William T. Williams.
1998 Doctor of Fine Arts, Honorary Degree, the College of Wooster, OH.
1997 Honoree, Certificate of Honor, Georgia Commission on Women, honoring “Georgia Women in the Visual Arts,” Georgia Department of Natural Resources.
1996 Commission: We Will Not Forget, Ralph David Abernathy Memorial Park. Mosaics, bronzes and landscaped permanent park for the Corporation for Olympic Development in Atlanta.
International Olympics poster and original print edition for the Atlanta Corporation for the Olympic Games.
1994 Fellowship in Painting, Art Matters, New York.
Commission: The Sky’s the Limit, mosaic ceiling, Intermediate School 90, Manhattan, NYC Board of Education.
1993 Fellowship, and residency, Bellagio, Italy, Rockefeller Foundation.
Award for catalogue publication, Richard Florsheim Art Fund, NY.
1989 Fellowship in Painting, New York Foundation for the Arts.
1983 Fellowship in Drawing, National Endowment for the Arts, Washington, DC.
The Dedicators Award, Brooklyn, NY (past honorees include Faith Ringgold, Roy DeCarava, and David Driskell).